Choosing Wisely NZ is an initiative of the Council of Medical Colleges in New Zealand. The campaign is a project organised by the CMC Executive Committee and Secretariat with close support by the 15 member colleges.

A Steering Group made up of health professionals and consumers provides direction and advice to the team along with invaluable support by Partners and supporters.

The Choosing Wisely New Zealand advisory group provide advice and input in to patient and clinical resources as well as forming a part of the Choosing Wisely speakers group for hospital Grand Rounds, conferences and national meetings.

Choosing Wisely New Zealand is supported by several organisations representing a wide range of health professionals and consumers.

Advisory Group Members

Dr Derek Sherwood



Was born in Nelson and attended Nelson College before leaving to complete his Medical degree at Otago University. He did his Ophthalmology training in the UK passing his FRCS final exam in Edinburgh in 1987. He has previously been involved in providing eye surgery in Nepal and the Pacific Islands but over the last 10 years in addition to his busy clinical practice he has been preoccupied with improving Eye Health Services in New Zealand firstly in his role Chairing the Diabetic Retinopathy Screening Group and then Chairing the Save Sight Society and more recently Chairing the NZ Branch of the Royal Australian and NZ College of Ophthalmologists.

In 2014 he was elected Chair of the Council of Medical Colleges an organisation that represents 14 Specialist Colleges and 9,500 doctors.

Dr Deborah Read

Public health physician


Deborah completed public health medicine training following several years of clinical practice. She works as a consultant in the public sector and also is an Associate Professor at the Centre for Public Health Research, Massey University, Wellington.

Her experience includes positions in the Ministry of Health and other central government agencies and as a Medical Officer of Health in several district health boards. She was a director of public health medicine training for six years. From 2000 to 2008, she was a member of the Medical Council of New Zealand, including six years as Deputy Chair, and six years as Chair of the Education Committee. She was also a member of the former Environmental Risk Management Authority from 2007 to 2011. Deborah is currently a member of the Health Practitioners Disciplinary Tribunal and Advertising Standards Complaints Board.

Dr John Bonning

Emergency Medicine Physician

MBChB (Auckland) FACEM

Emergency Medicine Physician, MBChB (Auckland) FACEM

John Bonning has been a Specialist Emergency Physician for over 13 years and has been Director of the Department of Emergency Medicine at Waikato Hospital since 2010. He is Chair of the NZ Faculty and on the Board of ACEM and a member of the Executive Committee of the Council of Medial Colleges in New Zealand.

Having worked in different emergency departments throughout New Zealand and Australia as well as the UK, he has a first-hand knowledge of different models of care in a variety of settings from the smallest rural to the largest tertiary hospital. John is has various other roles as an APLS and ACME Instructor and a Police Medical Officer and an expert advisor to the Police, Coroner and Courts on a variety of forensic and medical matters.

Dr Michael Dray


MBChB (Otago), FRCPA

Dr Michael Dray is a consultant Pathologist working in Hamilton for the Waikato DHB laboratory. He is a medical graduate of Otago University and spent his early years working in General Practice. His current roles include Vice President, NZ of the Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia (RCPA), chair of the NZ committee of the RCPA, and assistant to the Chief Examiner in anatomical pathology for the RCPA. He also is a member of the Bone and Joint research group at the University of Auckland where he is also an Honorary Senior Lecturer. He is currently on the executive of the Council of Medical Colleges.

The CMC Secretariat Team

Sue Ineson

Executive Director, CMC

BA, Dip Bus Studies, QSM

Sue has worked in the health and not for profit sectors for most of her working life. More recently she has worked as a consultant in the health and not for profit sector advising on Board and organisational performance and on professional regulation in New Zealand and overseas. Currently Sue works as the part time Executive Director of the Council of Medical Colleges, is a member of two professional regulatory Boards and assists several health boards with complaint investigation.

Leanne Shuttleworth

Executive Officer, CMC

BA, BHsc (Podiatry)

Leanne has worked in the health sector for several years, most recently at the Royal Australasian College of Physicians. She currently works for the Australasian College for Emergency Medcine and the Council of Medical Colleges.


Our Partners


The HQSC has provided media advice and communications support to the campaign, as well as financial support.



Consumer New Zealand has provided assistance with resource evaluation and has undertaken a base-line survey of consumers about Choosing Wisely. Sue Chetwin, Chief Executive, has formed a valued member of the campaign’s speakers group